Spiritual Economics

Do you know that feeling when all of the little bits and pieces of your life start to cooperate, each snapping into alignment with the next, and suddenly you find yourself shooting like an arrow, breeze blowing back your hair, sailing toward your target? I hope you do…it’s so exhilarating. Right now I can taste it. I feel the pieces clicking, I feel the breeze beginning to tousle my hair, and I have the sense that I have only just begun.

alignment

kyleandrewzimmerman.com

Last night I began a class at church that I’m super excited about: Spiritual Economics, based on the book by Eric Butterworth. The premise is that what we focus on grows, thoughts become things, and so as we affirm our abundance and prosperity we engage with the natural law and it grows in our consciousness and in our life. It’s like, if I’m down all I can see is the crappiness all around me. The kids are fighting, my body aches, I’m tired, and I don’t have any money. But when my lens is bright, when I am in a good mood, when I’m thinking positively–I see all the examples in my life that support my view that life is good. This idea might be a stretch for you, or it may be a given, but applying it to prosperity, finances, and my sense of security in life is a fairly new concept for me. I think this class is going to challenge me. I’m ready for discomfort and growth (I’ve learned they usually travel in pairs).

spiritual economics

One of the things I love most about taking classes like this is connecting with the other participants. If you don’t already know, you will soon learn: I am a personal growth junkie. I am driven, above most else, to become a better human being. The balance that I’m learning this requires, the acceptance and love of exactly who I am in every moment and at the same time the holding of the sometimes ginormous-feeling vision of who I have the potential to become, is often like a high-wire act. At times it’s effortless. At other times a fruit fly could knock me over. These classes, and more specifically the people that surround and support and show up every week for each other, make all the difference. They steady me and give me courage to stretch and grow even when it’s difficult and uncomfortable.

If you want the Spiritual Economics Cliff’s Notes, check out this video explanation from Brian Johnson:

6 thoughts on “Spiritual Economics

  1. Oh dear friend. Thank you. I just did the final weekend of my course–and this section was about money and life management skills. It was fabulous and eye opening. I walked away renewed and determined to get my financial life sorted out. Until last night. I was kept awake thinking about all the crap I’m going to have to wade through and how difficult it was going to be. I woke up wanting to crawl under the covers and stay there. I’m being faced with all the patterns I’ve created around money and power. I know this feeling means there’s some big work to be done and it’s not going to be solved over night. In my last breath session I was really working on ‘relaxing into the hard work.’ And now it’s time to apply that to life. Thank you for being one step ahead. I’ll be checking back for inspiration….and looking forward to watching the video!

    • Shawna, I love how our lives parallel each other’s. ❤ Money (and power and life management skills and…) can bring up such big emotions! You are totally on the right track though, knowing that there's great work to be done here and that it might not happen quickly. I'm sending you a message now so we can schedule a time to catch up. Oh, and do watch the video–I think you will really like it.

  2. I looove Brian Johnson! You go, lady!

  3. […] of my readings, classes and learnings start to meld together, but I think this started with the super-valuable book […]

  4. […] reading for class this week was actually on $money$ for the first time in 7 weeks, in a class on “economics.” […]

  5. […] Butterworth, in his book Spiritual Economics, says of […]

Leave a Reply

